onlychild

Only Child by Rhiannon Navin

9781509855582 Mantle
Will appeal to fans of Room, The Lovely Bones and The Fault in Our Stars' - IndependentHeartstopping. Heartbreaking. Heartwarming.

Addictive and emotional, but also full of hope, Rhiannon Navin's Only Child is the most heartfelt book you'll read this year. When the unthinkable happens, six-year-old Zach is at school. Huddled in a cloakroom with his classmates and teacher, he is too young to understand that life will never be the same again.

Afterwards, the once close-knit community is left reeling. Zach's dad retreats. His mum sets out to seek revenge.

Zach, scared, lost and confused, disappears into his super-secret hideout to try to make sense of things. Nothing feels right - until he listens to his heart . .

. But can he achieve the impossible and remind the grown-ups how to love again?Narrated by Zach, Only Child is full of heart; a real rollercoaster of a read that will stay with you long after you've turned the final page.
!
 <<