Dreamland by Rosa Rankin-Gee

9781471193811 Scribner
    Delivery time:7-10 Days
Add to cart
  • Description

For fans of Children of Men, Years and Years & Station Eleven, a postcard from a future Britain that's closer than we think. 'A beautiful book: thought-provoking, eerily prescient and very witty.' Brit Bennett, author of The Vanishing Half 'Water courses through its pages, as rising sea levels heighten inequalities, buoy populist politicians and wash away every certainty of civilisation. But there's also the novel's prose - its liquid grace and glinting sparkle - and the sheer irresistibility of a narrative that sweeps along with a force that feels tidal in its pull.' The Observer 'Although Rankin-Gee's nuanced, astute world building deserves applause, it's [the relationship between Chance and Frank] that holds the novel together, in large part because it feels so real.

She vividly captures the balance between ferocity and vulnerability as the two girls explore their burgeoning desire; one minute they're greedy for each other, the next they're proceeding more gingerly. Theirs is a great first love, blazing bright and furious amid the poverty and the pain, the perfect counterweight that's needed to make the novel sing. Dreamland brings us face-to-face with much of what we're on the threshold of losing; nevertheless, it manages to convince us that its characters have everything still to live for.' The Guardian'A writer of a new time...

A writer we will all want to read again and again.' Monique Roffey, author of The Costa Book of The Year The Mermaid of Black Conch "Dazzling and shattering" Nell Dunn, author of Up The Junction and Talking to Women'The writing clings like sand. Unexpected turns of phrase have burrowed deep into the recesses of my brain. She has created a vivid, textural portrait, teeming with life and granular, sensory detail as well as wisdom.

It does what the most haunting of apocalyptic novels do, which is to shine a light on what is already happening around us and ask that we wake up.' Olivia Sudjic, author of Asylum Road 'Entrancing... A dark and devastating funhouse ride through curtailed innocence and apocalyptic experience. And- most uniquely- a love letter to the waning magic and melancholy of British seaside towns.

It is its own twist on the lucid dystopias of Diane Cook, Kirsten Roupenian and Emily St John Mandel. The book is also deeply cinematic- I was reminded, throughout, of Terry Gilliam's waterlogged neo-noir fantasy Tideland, as well as the dreamy realism of the films of Andrea Arnold and Lynne Ramsay.' Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti 'Rankin-Gee is a visionary empath. Every page of this book both broke my heart and made me laugh out loud.

What a feat!' Jac Jemc, author of The Grip of It and False Bingo ''You said that you would come back. You looked me in the eye and said that. Well, if you had, this is what you would have seen: soft wood, black cracks, fridges in the road.

The broken spines of old rides at Dreamland.' In the coastal resort of Margate, hotels lie empty and sun-faded 'For Sale' signs line the streets. The sea is higher - it's higher everywhere - and those who can are moving inland. A young girl called Chance, however, is just arriving.

Chance's family is one of many offered a cash grant to move out of London - and so she, her mother Jas and brother JD relocate to the seaside, just as the country edges towards vertiginous change. In their new home, they find space and wide skies, a world away from the cramped bedsits they've lived in up until now. But challenges swiftly mount.