She Came to Stay by Eleni Kyriacou

9781529337693 Hodder
    Delivery time:7-10 Days
Add to cart
  • Description

Secrets and lies, poverty and elegance, old loyalties and new friendships all combine to make Eleni Kyriacou's debut novel a compelling page-turner' - Fiona Valpy, bestselling author of The Dressmaker's GiftOne of Woman & Home's Best Historical Fiction Reads of 2020In a city of strangers, who can you trust?London, 1952. Dina Demetriou has travelled from Cyprus for a better life. She's certain that excitement, adventure and opportunity are out there, waiting - if only she knew where to look.

Her passion for clothes and flair for sewing land her a job repairing the glittering costumes at the notorious Pelican Revue. It's here that she befriends the mysterious and beautiful Bebba. With her bleached-blonde hair and an appetite for mischief, Bebba is like no Greek Dina has ever met before.

She guides Dina around the fashionable shops, bars and clubs of Soho, and Dina finally feels life has begun. But Bebba has a secret. And as thick smog brings the city to a standstill, the truth emerges with devastating results.

Dina's new life now hangs by a thread. What will be left when the fog finally clears? And will Dina be willing to risk everything to protect her future? A story of friendship, family, love and loss set against the grimy and glittering streets of fifties Soho. For fans of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Rhys.

Further praise for SHE CAME TO STAY:'An atmospheric page-turner perfectly set in the smoke and glitter of a vanished world . . .

gripping' - Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said/She Said'Compelling and beautifully observed. Kyriacou brilliantly evokes the violence and the grime beneath the sequins and surface glamour of 1950s Soho' - Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing 'I absolutely loved it. A gripping, enthralling story .

. . I was completely engrossed' - Laura Marshall, bestselling author of Friend Request 'An absorbing story of friendship, betrayal and resilience' - Sarah Maine, bestselling author of Beyond the Wild River 'A gripping, evocative story .

. . well researched and utterly convincing.