Happy Families by Julie Ma

9781787396883 Wellbeck
    Delivery time:7-10 Days
Add to cart
  • Description

18th February

'Fabulously, witty and warm - what a talent!' Millie Johnson'A rare find' Richard MadeleyWinner of the Richard & Judy Search for a Bestseller 2020, this refreshing and original debut is perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, Gavin & Stacey and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. Three generations, two secrets, one extended family . .

. Amy is thirty-four and has just given up her glittering career in the big (Welsh) city to move back in with her grandfather, returning to work in the small-town Chinese takeaway where she spent her bookish and boring childhood. Why? That's a secret she won't tell.

Just like the secret of why her grandfather, Ah Goong, and her father, TC Li, haven't spoken to each other in thirty years. Weirder still, they've lived in the same small flat about the takeaway for the majority of those years, with Amy's mother Joan acting as their unfortunate go-between and buffer. Now Amy's parents have moved, leaving her in charge of looking after the old man.

But then Ah Goong collapses in the street and Amy realises time is running out if she wants to play happy families again . . .